Rugby Union 3 years ago

Western Force Tough Super Rugby 2015 Draw Released

  • Western Force Tough Super Rugby 2015 Draw Released

The Western Force have been given a very tough draw for the 2015 Super Rugby season, with only two home games in the first seven rounds of the competition. These seven rounds include an opening round clash against the reigning champion Waratahs and a South African tour in rounds six and seven. 

Their first home game will be in round three against the Hurricanes, which is always a very tough fixture. 

If the Force were to go 3-4 in the first seven rounds before the bye it would be a very impressive effort. 

You might also like

Their South African tour is much tougher this year as they will be versing the powerhouse Durban Sharks and the Bulls, who are very strong when playing in South Africa. They will need to leave South Africa with at least a 1-1 split. 

After their round seven bye they will have two games in Perth against the Stormers and the Cheetahs. These are two crucial games where they must go 2-0 before heading to New Zealand for two weeks in a row to verse the Chiefs and Blues.

Leaving New Zealand with a 1-1 split, again would be very impressive. 

They then have five weeks of being in Perth, with four home games and one bye. They will need to go 3-1 at a minimum in these games. 

They will then have one more game against the Rebels over in Melbourne. This will most likely be a must win game for the Western Force, and I imagine the season will end much like last years, with a last round win on the road determining their fate. 

So now, I put to you my very, very early end of season prediction. 

The Force will go one better than last season and finish on a 10-6 record, scraping into their first playoff appearance. 

2015 Western Force Draw

ROUND

DATE

MATCH

VENUE

KICK OFF (local)

 

1

Sunday, 15 February

Waratahs v Force

Allianz Stadium, Sydney

4.05pm

 

2

Saturday, 21 February

Reds v Force

Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

6.40pm

 

3

Friday, 27 February

Force v Hurricanes

nib Stadium, Perth

7.00pm

 

4

Friday, 6 March

Brumbies v Force

GIO Stadium, Canberra

7.40pm

 

5

Friday, 13 March

Force v Rebels

nib Stadium, Perth

7.00pm

 

6

Saturday, 21 March

Bulls v Force

Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

5.05pm

 

7

Saturday, 28 March

Sharks v Force

Growthpoint KINGS PARK, Durban

5.05pm

 

8

BYE

       

9

Saturday, 11 April

Force v Cheetahs

nib Stadium, Perth

7.45pm

 

10

Saturday, 18 April

Force v Stormers

nib Stadium, Perth

7.45pm

 

11

Friday, 24 April

Chiefs v Force

Waikato Stadium

7.35pm

 

12

Saturday, 2 May

Blues v Force

Eden Park, Auckland

5.30pm

 

13

Saturday, 9 May

Force v Waratahs

nib Stadium, Perth

5.40pm

 

14

BYE

       

15

Saturday, 23 May

Force v Highlanders

nib Stadium, Perth

7.45pm

 

16

Saturday, 30 May

Force v Reds

nib Stadium, Perth

5.40pm

 

17

Friday, 5 June

Force v Brumbies

nib Stadium, Perth

7.00pm

 

18

Friday, 12 June

Rebels v Force

AAMI Park, Melbourne

7.40pm

 

0 0
please wait...