Rugby Union 4 years ago

Badge Starts, B-Mac Sits

  • Badge Starts, B-Mac Sits

A Wallabies team consisting of 16 combined Brumbies and Waratahs has been named for this Saturdays third test match against France.

Cummins has retained his starting position in the lineup whilst Ben McCalman, despite a brilliant game, has been replaced by Wycliff Palu.

One of the biggest changes in the squad is the debut of Wil Skelton, the Waratahs 140kg, 103kg second rower. Skelton has been called up to the squad after Ewen McKenzie has given both Sam Carter and Luke Jones the oppurtunity to start in the previous two tests.

You might also like

We should expect to see the Wallabies squad stay like this for the rest of the international season. With Moore out, the hooker spot will remain the same. McCalman will provide quality closing minutes off the bench at number 8 Cummins will retain his starting position on the wing.

The front row is dominant with Slipper and Kepu at the one and three spot.

The only position with a question mark the second row, with the third rookie playing there this Saturday.

The back row will stay the same with flankers Michael Hooper and Scott Fardy dominant for the entire series. Hooper has been a clear standout and will make a brilliant captain.

As for the backs, it will most likely stay exactly the same, made up entirely of Brumbies and Waratahs with Nick Cummins the loan interstate player.

The Line up

1. James Slipper (vc - Queensland Reds - 51 caps)

2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (NSW Waratahs 48 caps)

3. Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs - 40 caps)

4. Rob Simmons (Queensland Reds - 39 caps)

5. Will Skelton (NSW Waratahs uncapped)*

6. Scott Fardy (ACT Brumbies - 12 caps)

7. Michael Hooper (c - NSW Waratahs - 30 caps)

8. Wycliff Palu (NSW Waratahs 50 caps)

9. Nic White (ACT Brumbies - 12 caps)

10. Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs - 6 caps)

11. Nick Cummins (Western Force - 14 caps)

12. Matt Toomua (ACT Brumbies - 12 caps)

13. Tevita Kuridrani (ACT Brumbies - 10 caps)

14. Adam Ashley-Cooper (vc - NSW Waratahs - 93 caps)

15. Israel Folau (NSW Waratahs - 17 caps)

16. Nathan Charles (Western Force 1 cap)

17. Scott Sio (ACT Brumbies 4 caps)

18. Laurie Weeks (Melbourne Rebels 1 cap)

19. James Horwill (Queensland Reds 50 caps)

20. Ben McCalman (Western Force - 31 caps)

21. Nick Phipps (NSW Waratahs 16 caps)

22. Kurtley Beale (NSW Waratahs - 41 caps)

23. Rob Horne (NSW Waratahs - 15 caps)

0 0
please wait...